Title Banner Metropolis Title Banner Calendar Title Banner Orthodox Life Title Banner Parishes Title Banner Links Title Banner
Title Banner
Monday, 16 January 2017
Coming Feasts
Tue, 17 January '17

St Anthony the Great

Wed, 18 January '17

SS. Athanasius and Cyril, Archbishops of Alexandria

Fri, 20 January '17

St Euthymius the Great

Wed, 25 January '17

St Gregory of Nazianzen, the Theologian

Fri, 27 January '17

The Translation of the Relics of St John Chrysostom


The Veneration of the precious chains of the Apostle Peter

The Lord will hearken unto me when I cry unto Him.
Verse: When I called upon Thee, O God of my righteousness, Thou didst hearken unto me.

Wisdom from the Holy Fathers
Certain things stop the movement of the passions and do not allow them to grow; others subdue them and make them diminish. For instance, where desire is concerned, fasting, labor and vigils do not allow it to grow, while withdrawal, contemplation, prayer and intense longing for God subdue it and make it disappear. The same is true with regard to anger. Forbearance, freedom from rancor, gentleness, for example, all arrest it and prevent it from growing, while love, acts of charity, kindness and compassion make it diminish.
On Love

For those interested in the Orthodox Church and Faith please feel free to contact a Church representative near you for further information or contact Fr Ian (see Contacts for details).

Paschal Feasts
Sun, 5 February

Publican and Pharisee

Mon, 27 February

Clean Monday

Sun, 9 April

Palm Sunday

Fri, 14 April

Holy Friday

Sat, 15 April

Holy Saturday

Sun, 16 April

Pascha

Sun, 23 April

Thomas Sunday

Thu, 25 May

Ascension

Sun, 4 June

Pentecost


Latest News

Service(s) for Monday
The Veneration of the precious chains of the Apostle Peter
Dunchaid O'Braoin, Abbot of Clonmacnoise, Ireland. Fursey of Ireland, Abbot of Burgh Castle and Peronne Monastery, France. Hieromartyr Damaskinos of Hilandar monastery on Athos. Honoratos, Archbishop of Arles and founder of Lerins Monastery. Peusippos and Neonilla and the martyrs of Cappadocia. Romil of Ravanica. The veneration of the precious chains of the Apostle Peter.

Service(s) for Tuesday
St Anthony the Great
Anthony the New, ascetic of Berrea in Macedonia. Mildgyth (Milgitha), Virgin of Canterbury, England, Abbess of Minster. Nennius, Abbot in Ireland. New-Martyr George of Ioannina. Venerable Anthony the Great.

To the Glory of God, this is a private Orthodox website for New Zealand. It does not officially represent any jurisdcition here.


Any errors on the site are the sole responsibility of the web-site designer.

Icons, Psalms, readings and hymns courtesy of Holy Transfiguration Monastery, Theologic Systems and Metropolitan Joseph Harkiolakis.

Wisdom of the Fathers is from An Athonite Gerontikon: Sayings of the Holy Fathers of Mount Athos and The Philokalia
Scripture Verses from KJV and EMTV

© 2004-2017.